Wed Dec 1–Fri Dec 31, 2021

The Magic Lamp

Panto is coming to the Presidio!

Ages 4 and up.

An all-star team of theater icons is bringing panto to San Francisco this holiday season. Fun for the whole family, The Magic Lamp turns the classic children’s tale of Aladdin on its head with magnificent costumes, musical parodies, dance, magic, and over-the-top silliness. Join Aladdin, a bike messenger, and Jazz, the daughter of a successful tech entrepreneur, as they discover new love and ancient magic in modern day San Francisco. The Magic Lamp is brimming with humor, featuring work by Grammy and Emmy award-winning comedy writer and musician Mason Williams (Classical Gas, The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour, and Saturday Night Live), and Musical Direction by Bill Keck (Beach Blanket Babylon).

Cast

Rotimi Agbabiaka
Aladdin
Sharon Shao
Jazz
Danny Scheie
Abba
Renée Lubin
Genie of the Ring
Curt Branom
Widow Twankey
JM Appleby
Genie of the Lamp
Rinabeth Apostol
Sultana
Matthew Kropschot
Pecker
Scott Reardon
Jarvis

The cast also includes Ruby Day, Albert Hodge, Jen Brooks, Jaime Bardacke, Maggie Connard, Merrill Grant, Lauren Howard, Dian Sitip Meechai, Paul Renolis, Gary Stanford Jr., and Ryan Patrick Welsh.

 

Full Cast List and Bios

 

Creative Team

Executive Producer Peggy Haas has assembled a creative team including director Tamroz Torfeh, dramaturg Christine Nicholson, assistant director Vernon Lewis, co-playwrights Christine Nicholson and Luther Hanson, creative contributor Mason Williams, musical director Bill Keck, technical director Jeff Gregory, production manager Patty Ann Farrell, production designer Sean Riley, lighting designer Stephanie Anne Johnson, projection designer David Murakami, costume designer Alina Bokovikova and choreographer Stacey Printz.

Performances and Previews

Twenty-seven performances will be given December 1–31, 2021, including four discounted public preview performances on December 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Family Discounts

Families and friend groups of four or more will receive a Family Pack discount of 20%. (Discount automatically applied at checkout.)

 

What is panto?

Panto is a traditional British holiday entertainment that combines slapstick humor, one-line zingers, outrageous characters and send-ups of current events.

Dates

Wed, Dec 1
7:30pm
Thu, Dec 2
7:30pm
Fri, Dec 3
7:30pm
Sat, Dec 4
7:30pm
Fri, Dec 10
7:30pm
Sat, Dec 11
2:00pm
Sat, Dec 11
7:30pm
Sun, Dec 12
2:00pm
Fri, Dec 17
7:30pm
Sat, Dec 18
2:00pm
Sat, Dec 18
7:30pm
Sun, Dec 19
2:00pm
Sun, Dec 19
7:30pm
Tue, Dec 21
2:00pm
Tue, Dec 21
7:30pm
Wed, Dec 22
7:30pm
Thu, Dec 23
2:00pm
Thu, Dec 23
7:30pm
Fri, Dec 24
2:00pm
Sun, Dec 26
2:00pm
Sun, Dec 26
7:30pm
Tue, Dec 28
2:00pm
Tue, Dec 28
7:30pm
Wed, Dec 29
7:30pm
Thu, Dec 30
2:00pm
Thu, Dec 30
7:30pm
Fri, Dec 31
7:30pm

Price

Tickets start at $10

Join our mailing list